This is how I started my Web dev Journey

This is how I started my Web dev Journey

My Roller coaster journey of getting into Web

Introduction

When I was just exploring different domains of tech, I decided to get started with web development. Web development is one of the most in-demand skills in the Industry. So, I started a course on Udemy.

Foundation

1.png

From the course that I was doing, I learned HTML, CSS and javascript. I learned about different HTML tags like image, heading, paragraph, semantic tags and a lot more. In CSS I learned about different properties, pseudo-classes, units, flexbox, grid and mediaquery. I wasn't using Javascript much whenever I was creating webpages.

Improving the basics

2.png

To improve my HTML and CSS skills I started implementing designs that I found on the internet. It was challenging in beginning but as I kept pushing forward it started to feel easy. I would say to improve a skill you need to gradually increase the intensity, in this case, the complexity of design to implement.

A short break

I started to get bored with it and I started to learn some other stuff(ML and AI), it sounds cool, right? So for the next 6 months, I learned nothing about web development. Just tried different technologies like TensorFlow, flutter and so on. Then I realized that I should stick to one thing and try to absorb it completely.

Getting started with the backend

3.png

I felt like I should stick to web development and learn the backend. So I chose Spring framework in Java. As I started learning spring, I started to enjoy the learning process. For me working on the backend was exciting, but soon I realized that for building an MVP or for just building a simple website spring was not a good choice. In java, a ton of code has to be written. In the end, I switched from Spring to Django. I don't know if Django was too easy to learn or if I am a good learner but I finished the basics of Django in a week whereas for Spring it took me almost a month to reach the authentication part. Whatever the case may be, I created a Blog in it from scratch though I later learned that there are various projects which make it too easy to build blog applications in Django.

Similarly, I built some other projects to reinforce my learning and also extend it. Since then I have been sticking to Django. The deeper I am going into Django, the more I am loving it.

If you are interested in learning Django you can check out my Django-project Series

Conclusion

I started from the basics and improved by practicing and applying the knowledge I had gained. If I hadn't taken the 'short break', I might have gained more knowledge and experience. Building projects helped me a lot, trying different approaches is a great way to improve development skills. So try building different stuff to keep challenging yourself.

What do you think are different ways to test your newly acquired skill?

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Rishabh Kumar Bahukhandi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!