Mistakes that I made when I started learning coding

Mistakes that I made when I started learning coding

Starting out? Avoid these mistakes.

Introduction

After my 12th Standard board exams, I decided that I would start coding, though few years earlier I learnt some basic Java, but that was all that I knew. The thing was, I was fascinated by the concept of programming computer. So I made up my mind to learn python which is one of the most popular language. Just at that time lockdown was declared. So, I had nothing else to do I went all in Python and finished the basics and OOPs in two weeks.

First mistake

I didn't make any project with whatever I had learnt. But soon I started project based learning and started applying my learnings. Thank god I realized it sooner.

Second Mistake

I didn't stick to a single technology and kept jumping from one tech to another. After the Python I started learning web development. I started learning HTML, CSS and Javascript. Learnt to build some basic webpages. Then I got bored and went into data science and machine learning stuff. Though most of the stuff went right above my head.

Third Mistake

I was learning all alone. When we learn alone we are not able to know the level of knowledge we have gathered. Since we have no competition/rival we tend to get lazy. I kept on learning alone but soon met some like minded people. It helped me a lot mentally. I started feeling motivated and confident.

Fourth Mistake

Getting into cool stuff without learning the basics. Whenever I started something new I jumped directly into the stuff which seemed cool and skipping basics slows down the learning process a lot.

Fifth Mistake

Not trying to learn a technology in-depth. We all tend to learn only the basics of a technology and when we feel it is getting complex and hard we chicken out. And this separates an expert from a normal person. Just get your hands dirty and try complex things.

Conclusion

Finally these were some of the mistakes which I made in the beginning. I had no one to guide me and help me out with this. So, the summary is

  • Build Projects
  • Stick to a single technology and learn it perfectly, partially learning is of no use.
  • Find a group with same interest as you or having same goal
  • Learn the basics before jumping into cool stuff
  • Learn the technology in-depth, get comfortable with advance stuff

What do think are some other mistakes to avoid? Comment down.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Rishabh Kumar Bahukhandi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!